CARS conducts in-house review of faculty and student researches

In support of the University’s vision to become a premier research university in the ASEAN region and the advancement of research and development in agriculture, aquaculture, and natural resources (AANR) sector, the College of Agriculture and Related Sciences (CARS) conducted an in-house review of faculty and student researches on June 22, 2022, at Farmer’s Training Center (FTC) Hall, USeP Tagum Unit, Tagum-Mabini Campus.

The in-house review provided an avenue for the presentation of completed faculty and students’ researches to determine the quality and concordance of to the Research, Development, and Extension (RDE) agenda of the University, as well as to disseminate relevant information derived from studies.

Dr. Merina H. Juruena, the CARS research head, facilitated the said review.

Four (4) graduate students and 11 undergraduate students presented their thesis outputs, and were evaluated by three (3) experts in the field of agriculture namely, Dr. Purisima G. Bayacag, Dr. Anastacia G. Notarte, and Dr. Amparo B. Lacandula.

Mr. Franz Joseph E. Gonzales was awarded the best graduate thesis in his study titled “Evaluation of Selected Biological Control Agents (BCA) Against Phytophthora sp. Causing Pod Rot Disease in Cacao”; and followed by Mr. John Brice E. Ferrer with his paper “Assessment of the Technological Resources and Capabilities of the Local Government Units (LGUs) in Providing Agriculture and Fisheries Extension Services in Davao Del Norte; and Mr. Rowel C. Bartolome with his paper “Toxicity and Repellency of Ageratum conyzoides, Chromolaena odorata, Cyperus rotundus and Lantana camara Against Corn Weevil’.

Mr. Gonzales was under the advisory of Dr. Cecirly G. Puig, while Mr. Ferrer and Mr. Bartolome were under the tutelage of Dr. Larry V. Aceres, and Dr. Fernando V. Magdato, Jr., respectively.

Meanwhile, the best undergraduate thesis was awarded to Mr. Ian Charls Cabrera with his paper “Population Density and Survival of Trichoderma harzianum on Solid and Liquid Media: Effects on Fusarium oxysporum f. sp. cubense TR4 Causing Banana Fusarium Wilt”. Mr. Mikko Jan G. Corpuz placed second with his paper “Development of Biodegradable Packaging using Lakatan Banana (Musa acuminata) Pseudostem” and followed by Mr. Steve Kierr E. Sajorga with his paper “Design, Fabrication, and Performance Evaluation of Hexagonal Hydroponics Tower for Lettuce (Lactuca sativa) Production”.

Mr. Cabrera, Mr. Corpuz, and Mr. Sajorga were under the advisory of Dr. Merlina H. Juruena, Engr. Ruben V. Cantones, and Dr. Joie D. Cataytay, respectively.

Best thesis awardees were given a certificate of recognition.